Knoxville Tennessee DUI Penalties

Our Tennessee DUI lawyers will defend your rights and protect your future.

Under Tennessee law a person can be charged and convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if he or she drives or is in physical control of a motor vehicle on a public roadway and

  • Has a breath/blood alcohol content of .08 or above; Or
  • Is under the influence of alcohol; Or
  • Is under the influence of drugs (prescribed or otherwise); Or is under the combined influence of alcohol or drugs.

Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

DUI 1ST offense:

  • Fine: $350 minimum; $1,500.00 maximum.
  • Jail: minimum 48 hours (along with 24 hours litter pick-up); maximum 11 months and 29 days
  • mandatory 7 consecutive days if blood alcohol exceeds .20%.
  • Driver’s license revoked for 1 year.

DUI 2ND offense:

  • Fine: $600.00 minimum; $3,500 maximum.
  • Jail: minimum 45 days; maximum 11 months and 29 days.
  • Driver’s license is revoked for 2 years
  • Inpatient alcohol or drug treatment available as jail credit.
  • Possible forfeiture of vehicle if used in the offense.

DUI 3RD offense:

  • Fine: $1,100.00 minimum; $10,000.00 maximum
  • Jail: minimum 120 days; maximum 11 months and 29 days
  • Driver’s license revoked for 3 years to 10 years.
  • Possible forfeiture of vehicle.

DUI 4TH offense:

  • Class E felony conviction.
  • Fine: $3,000 minimum; $15,000.00 maximum.
  • Jail: minimum 150 days; maximum 6 years.
  • Driver’s license revoked for 5 years
  • Possible forfeiture of vehicle.

DUI or DWI convictions count as prior offenses for either charge, as do convictions in another state. A DUI or DWI within the last 10 years is considered. If you have one DUI within the last 10 years, the court will consider DUIs and DWI convictions that go back 20 years.

Experienced BUI / DUI Defense Attorney Located in Knoxville, TN

Do not delay, call a lawyer capable of handling your Tennessee DUI or boating under the influence charge immediately.  There are often many ways of successfully defending a Tennessee DUI charge if you obtain a capable Tennessee DUI or BUI attorney in enough time to investigate and prepare for your case. Call today 865-637-2900